SCRUTINY COMMITTEE FOR CHILDREN'S SERVICES

TUESDAY 7 SEPTEMBER 2010 at 10.00am

COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, LEWES

MEMBERSHIP - Councillor Ensor (Chairman)

Councillors Field, Gadd, Kenward, S Shing, St Pierre, Waite,

Webb and Whetstone

David Saunders (RC Diocese)
Mr M Wilson (C of E Diocese)
Mr S Gregory (Parent Governor)
Ms K Hearn (Parent Governor)

Jonathan Johnson (District / Borough representative)
Mrs Carole Shaves MBE (Police Authority representative)

Jeremy Alford (Health representative)

AGENDA

- 1. Minutes of meeting held on 7 June 2010 (page 1)
- 2. Apologies for absence
- 3. Disclosure by all Members present of personal interests in matters on the agenda, the nature of any interest and whether the member regards the interest as prejudicial under the terms of the Code of Conduct.
- 4. Notification of matters which the Chairman considers to be urgent and proposes to take at the end of the agenda. Any members who wish to raise urgent items are asked, where ever possible, to notify the Chairman before the start of the meeting. In doing so, they must state the special circumstances which they consider justify the matter being considered urgent.
- 5. Reconciling Policy and Resources (RPR) report by the Chief Executive (page 7)
- 6. Children's Centres report by Director of Children's Services (page 43)
- 7. Review of Discretionary Provision of Home to School Transport for Pupils Attending a Denominational School report by Director of Children's Services (page 85)
- 8. Scrutiny Committee Work Programme report by the Director of Governance and Community Services (page 105)
- 9. The Forward Plan for the period 1 September 2010 to 31 December 2010 is attached at page 109. The Committee is asked to make comments on the Plan or request further information.

10. Any urgent items previously notified under agenda item 4

Philip Baker Assistant Director of Legal and Democratic Services East Sussex County Council County Hall St Anne's Crescent Lewes BN7 1SW

27 August 2010

Democratic Services Officers: Gemma Barlow (01273 482125) and

Michaela Frost (01273 482622)

Email: gemma.barlow@eastsussex.gov.uk and michaela.frost@eastsussex.gov.uk